According to family stories, EDWARD GINTY/GUINTY was from an aristocratic family that was entitled to burial in historic Clonmacnoise Abbey, and wrangled special permission for his wife MARGARET (Reynolds? Coughlin?) to be buried there beside him. He rode horses. On their farm was a school run by a schoolmaster named Coughlin who was a relative, and they had two girls working for them. Edward lost his money when a family in debt was evicted and a corpse held without burial until they paid the money they owed. Edward ordered it buried decently, so had to assume the debts, taxes, etc.
We believe Edward died 15 August 1847 in Roscommon County, Ireland, and Margaret had to sell everything. His daughter Bridget found one of his bootprints still in the yard, wept into it, and covered it with a brick to preserve it. Her mother said she was too young to grieve so, and she decided to pack up the family and move to America.
Margaret Ann had had several infants who died, and vowed in prayer to dress the next child in blue and white for seven years if it lived. That was Bernard, Bridget's younger brother. Bridget grew up to be a good looking woman, and Bernard was devoted to her. Whenever she wanted anything--a new dress, a comb--he would say, "Ye shall have it, Bridget." (Joe Williams used to tease Bridget's descendant Anna Ward with that line.)
1847 was the year of the famine. The wealthiest Irish farmers were the graziers of Limerick, Tipperary, Meath, and Roscommon, and Roscommon County was the most important sheep-breeding county in Ireland, but with the potato famine disease became widespread in Roscommon at the end of 1846 and early 1847. Horse and ass flesh was eaten in Roscommon and Galway, and heavy fever was reported in Roscommon and Cavan counties. The fever was so bad that at Castlerea, County Roscommon, the Master and Matron died, the doctor resigned, and of 990 workhouse inmates, 830 had fevers. In Roscommon as early as 12 October 1845 a constabulary report said 7,500 people were living on meals of boiled cabbage leaves once every 48 hours. To add to the troubles, there were rent difficulties.
Michael Tepper's NEW WORLD IMMIGRANTS (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1980) lists the GINTYs as living on the crown estate of Ballykilcline, in the parish of Kilglass, in the barony of Bullintubber, Roscommon. Ballykilcline was 602 acres subdivided into very tiny holdings occupied by "cottier labourers," and the land was almost completely worn out when the lease to the English tenant, Lord Hartland, fell due in April, 1834. There were 74 tenants, and they owed 411 pounds 19 shillings 11 pence yearly to him, but less than 350 pounds had been collected when the payment of all rents ceased in 1836. Notices to quit, and demands to give up their lands, were sent out, and by 1 May 1837, fifty-six holdings had been surrendered. In that year, Clarendon wrote that the estate "was for years past the most mismanaged in Ireland," according to THE GREAT FAMINE by R. Dudley Edwards and T. Desmond Williams (Dublin: Browne & Nolan, Ltd., 1956), but the remainder of the tenants refused to leave.
To quote Tepper's book, "There was considerable opposition to the attempts made by crown officials to enter the estate; the assistance of the police was necessary on several occasions; houses were re-occupied and bailiffs attached when serving eviction notices. However, those charged with assaulting the bailiffs were acquitted by a jury who, in the opinion of the crown agent, 'were a set of the lamest and most ignorant men could be impaneled, and a disgrace to any Court of Justice.' The establishment of a police barracks on the estate was considered at one time, so determined was the resistance."
The tenants employed a lawyer named Hugh O'Farrell, whom they paid five shillings per acre each to prevent the evictions. The 'Molly Maguires' (a secret resistance band) also visited the estate.
The book THE GREAT FAMINE claims some 200 people were packed off easily and only 25 families still clung to the land (which would include our Gintys), while "pathetic, half-literate petitions began to pour in from the remaining tenants. Each of them, embedded in archaic, preposterous flattery, amounted to a prayer to be allowed to die 'in the land of their forefathers and their birth.' They pleaded the 'decline' in their families, or the delicacy of their parents, or the fact that they had never taken part with the 'lawless banditti' as grounds for refusing emigration and being allowed to retain their lands. Needless to say, no attention was paid to these petitions."
Tepper says then Hugh O'Farrell and the O'Conor Don (a hereditary chieftain of the area) asked for leases under the Crown. They were given a year's grace but the tenants still couldn't come up with the advance payment of two years' rent.
"An army of 60 police, 25 cavalry, 30 infantry, and a stipendiary magistrate were deemed necessary as an escort for the sheriff, and on 27 May 1847, fourteen houses were occupied; two were thrown down, the doors and windows were taken out of others, and twelve policemen were left on the premises," reports Tepper's book.
On 12 August 1847, approval of emigration was given, and on 8 September 1847 the first group of emigrants arrived in Dublin en route to Liverpool, England, where they were to embark for New York. All 55 sailed on the packet ship Roscius on the 19th. The shipping agents in charge were Henry and William Scott of Eden Quay, Dublin, and the charge was four pounds for an adult, two pounds fifteen shillings per child. Food, tins, and cooking utensils were provided for thirty shillings per adult, fifteen shillings per child, as well as landing money of a pound per adult and ten shillings per child, paid in American currency. Between September 19th and April 25, 1848, a total of 366 people sailed from Ballykilcline to Liverpool to New York in seven different ships, and on 17 May 1848 the estate was reported as "perfectly untenanted." The next year, William George Downing Nesbitt bought it for 5,500 pounds. The Irish people who had lived on the land for generations were replaced with sheep. (For more on Ballintober, see the end of this genealogy.)
The GEENTY or GINTY family is listed among that crowd, sailing from Liverpool on 26 September 1847 on the ship Metoka. The head of the family was Margaret, aged 60. With her were daughter Bridget, 16, and son Bernard, 14. They landed in New York City on 30 October 1847; the family always celebrated their arrival in America on every Halloween.
The Gintys weren't alone in New York City; from 5 May 1847 to the end of that year, some 52,946 Irish landed in New York, the state taking the most Irish immigrants. Those found ill were sent to a quarantine Station on Staten Island.
Bridget always claimed the trip took seven weeks, and that she was only 11 or so. Her grand-daughter Anna Ward believes they sailed to Liverpool from Queenstown. Traveling in steerage, with poor sanitation, they came down with 'ship's fever' and Margaret and Bernard were detained, leaving Bridget Ann alone in New York. When released, Margaret is said to have joined relatives in Norwich, Connecticut, where she later died of tuberculosis. The family legend says a banshee howled at the window that night, because she had broken her promise to be buried beside Edward. So far, no burial site in Norwich has been located.
Here again we rely on family stories. Bridget was put to work for a well-to-do Presbyterian family as a grandmother's companion. The family told her there were no Catholic churches, and urged her to attend their church and to eat meat on Fridays. But the maids in the kitchen, who were also Irish, told her there was a Catholic community. One night the maid put a cloak around Bridget and sneaked her out for Mass, but as they were crossing a bridge, the man of the house, on horseback, recognized Bridget. The priest told her not to return. The family then wrote Margaret that Bridget was a good girl "until the day she met that black Irish priest." (Black in the sense of sinful and evil, not in color.) Margaret wrote back, saying she could die in peace knowing Bridget was a good Catholic girl. It's said that Archbishop Hughes, the first Irish Archbishop in America, pointed out Bridget at her Confirmation as having stood up for her faith, and gave her a medal.
The legend says that because Margaret was ill and didn't want to leave Bridget alone in America, she arranged for the girl, wearing her Confirmation dress, to marry an older man named GLEASON or HOGUE. He was to have been a priest, but lacked the money. They had four or five children, but the father died of black diptheria there in the Connecticut area. Bridget didn't speak of this family until, on her deathbed, she saw "Lukie" at the foot of the bed, and called the name "Felix."
Confirmation of this story comes in marriage records. LUKE HOGG married BRIDGET GOINTY (could this read "Guinty" in the original record?) on 31 August 1850 at St. Patrick's Cathedral in Norwich. The priest was R. A. Kennedy, the witnesses Ellen Murphy and Bernard GOINTY. Then, in Norwich, on 20 February 1853, pastor Daniel Kelly of the Roman Catholic church of St. Mary's married a JAMES GLEASON to BRIDGET HOGG. This marriage was recorded 3 May 1853 by Othniel Gage, town clerk.
Bridget answered an ad for someone to run a boarding house for the railroad at Ratling Run Station, East Hanover Township, Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, near Harrisburg. She earned $1.25 a day. In those pre-Civil War days, the railroad was expanding westward, and she lived about 20 miles from Harrisburg. The name "Piney Grove" has been mentioned. The men were laying tracks into the mountains. As she was a young widow, Bernard went with her. It's said he was a big man who lived in that area for some time. It's also said that he was a quartermaster for the Union Army; we'll take up his career in a moment.
Pennsylvania Dutch girls helped Bridget cook over an open hearth in the yard, and the railroad brought her barrels of flour, rice, and so on to cook for the 40 men on the tracks. The pay car came once a month, paying Bridget before the men. She made fairly good wages, kept her own account books, and it is said she loved to read, although she couldn't write much beyond her name.
While there, Bridget met WILLIAM PATRICK ROONEY, a foreman or section boss there. He was 21 when he left Ireland, well-versed in Irish matters, and he was good to her children, who died after their marriage. Will was drafted by the Union Army--almost. They measured him--he was quite short. Then Bridget appeared with $700 in her apron and paid for his replacement. He was drafted a second time and told $500 would take care of it, but managed to get away without paying.
One of Bernard Guinty's children was born at their home, where his wife stayed during the Civil War. Unfortunately, William was a stiff-necked Irishman, and argumentative in his cups. He and Mrs. Guinty quarreled, and she walked out with her children.
BERNARD GUINTY enlisted 6 August 1855 in Company K, 1st Cavalry regiment, at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. His enlistment papers says he was born in Roscommon County 18 years before, was 5'6" tall, had light hair, blue eyes, and a fair complection. He re-enlisted at the St. Louis Arsenal in Missouri, where Father Edward M. Henesy of St. Vincent's Church married him to Ann Bridget O'Rourke on 9 March 1861. The 1870 Clark County, Washington Territory census lists a B.B. GUINTY, 27, laborer, born Ireland, with $1000 personal property. Wife Ann B., 27, born Delaware. Children: Edward, 9, born Missouri; William, 5, born Pennsylvania; Alexander, 3, Kansas; Margaret, 1, Washington. While stationed at Fort Vancouver, Washington, Bernard died of hepatic abscess of the liver on 14 October 1870. At findagrave.com, see a photo of his tombstone from Fort Vancouver Military Cemetery, Vancouver, Clark, Washington, USA. In the local St.James and St. Augustine Mission, Father Aegidicus Junger married the widow to John Oberlaender on 6 December 1871. (She may have married again, for a Bridget Child is listed on pension rolls as guardian of Bernard's minor children. Or did the Child family adopt the children at some point?)
The WASHINGTON STATE AND TERRITORIAL CENSUS 1857-1892 has a census for Clark County, Washington on 11 April 1883 (family 917, roll V228_1):
Bridget's children are in the ROONEY history. What follows is what we know of Bernard, and the records do get skimpy.
1. EDWARD A. GUINTY was born 20 December 1861 in St. Louis, Missouri. He appears in "Famous Horses and Horsemen," page 151, vol. 46 of OREGON HISTORICAL QUARTERLY: "Here he [A.D. Platner] galloped his horses using a local boy, E.A. Ginty, later employed by the Honeyman Hardware Co." The time was 1877. The 1900 Oregon census lists E. A. Ginty as residing at 345 Flanters St., Portland, with Cora, born Aug. 1862 in Oregon and children Edna, born Aug. 1894; George, b. December 1896; Madeline, b. July 1899, and boarder Rosalie Wolf, born December 1883. In the Portland directory for 1883 are listed Edward A. Ginty, driver for Aliskey, Baum & Co., rms. 113 Morrison, and Mrs. Cora Ginty, tailoress, rms. 113 Morrison. She was a farm girl named Cordelia Henry, born 20 August 1862 in Scholls, Oregon. She was 5/3" with grey eyes. She died of cardiac failure. Edward was a conductor for the Portland trolley car system. He must've had a sense of humor, for when a foster daughter returning from an Irish trip told him the Ginty name had a crest, he said it was baloney. "It must've been a crust," he snorted. Caldwell's Colonial Mortuary, 2 January 1937, reports that Edward A. Ginty, residence of 2237 N. E. Wasco St., retired, had died. Burial was to be at Riverview Abbey from the Church of the Madeline. Cora Ginty took out no death, funeral notice, or obituary, but Edward is listed in the "deaths" column of the PORTLAND JOURNAL for 5 January 1937 as age 75, dying of bronchopneumonia. Cordelia Ginty died 10 February 1949 in Portland, death certificate #1960. Children:
6. Edna Ginty, born August 1894 Oregon, married Clifford Earl Allison and had a daughter, Virginia. See below.2. WILLIAM HENRY GINTY, born 11 January 1864, baptismal record at St. Mary's, Pittsburgh, PA. No listing in census or in land record on 1907 list of Bernard Guinty heirs. It looks like he took off for the Alaskan gold rush.
Source Information: Ancestry.com. Washington State and Territorial Censuses, 1857-1892 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2006.
Source Citation: Year: 1900; Census Place: Nome, Northern Supervisors District, Alaska; Roll: T623_1828; Page: 25A; Enumeration District: 3.
Source Citation: Year: 1910; Census Place: Cordova, Division 3, Alaska Territory; Roll: T624_1750; Page: 23A; Enumeration District: 0002; Image: 104; FHL Number: 1375763.
3. ALEXANDER GUINTY, born 28 May 1866, Leavenworth, Kansas.
1880 - Buena Vista and Luckamute, Polk, Oregon
The 1900 census has him residing at 503 21st St., Portland, Oregon, with James Daly, brother-in-law. Alexander married Anna Karstens 30 June 1907 in Benton County. The March 1907 land record lists an Alexander Ginty and Margaret A. Daly among the heirs.
1910 - Ashland Ward 3, Jackson, Oregon
1920 - Los Angeles Assembly District 64, Los Angeles, California
1930 - Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California
Original data: Historical Register of National Homes for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers, 1866-1938; (National Archives Microfilm Publication M1749, 282 rolls); Records of the Department of Veterans Affairs, Record Group 15; National Archives, Washington, D.C.
Name: Alexander Ginty
National Cemetery Administration. U.S. Veterans Gravesites, ca.1775-2006 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2006.
4. MARGARET ANN GINTY, born 29 January 1869 in Vancouver, Clark County, Washington. She married James T. DALY around 1885-1890 in Clark County.
Source Citation: Year: 1900; Census Place: Portland Ward 8, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T623_1350; Page: 9B; Enumeration District: 70.
Source Citation: Year: 1910; Census Place: Portland Ward 8, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T624_1287; Page: 3A; Enumeration District: 0207; Image: 310; FHL Number: 1375300.
Source Citation: Year: 1920;Census Place: Portland, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T625_1501; Page: 1B; Enumeration District: 114; Image: 751.
Source Citation: Death Index 1921-1930 Begin-A, Oregon State Library, Oregon Death Index A-Z, 1921-1930
Source Citation: Oregon Death Index 1931-1941, Oregon State Library, Oregon Death Index M-Z, 1931-1941
10. Nellie Daly5. GEORGE WASHINGTON GINTY was born 26 September 1870 in Vancouver, Clark County, Washington. He died 16 May 1928 in Umatilla County, death certificate #98, and was buried with his father at Fort Vancouver Cemetery. His wife was a Lillian K.
A George Washington Guinty married Lillian Clifton in British Columbia, per ancestry.com, but I don't have a World Membership and can't check out the details.
Drink recipes were published each week in the National Police Gazette from 1899 onwards. The January 28, 1905 edition included at drink by G. W. Guinty, from Vancouver, Washington. Thanks to Doug Stailey, of libationlegacy.com, who found this!
Year: 1910; Census Place: 303 Hancock Street, Portland Ward 9, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T624_1289; Page: 16B; Enumeration District: 0223; FHL microfilm: 1375302
Year: 1920; Census Place: Salem Ward 6, Marion, Oregon; Roll: T625_1498; Page: 11B; Enumeration District: 351; Image: 309
11.....Helen Guinty was born 7 February 1902 Washington, USA.
6. EDNA GINTY (BERNARD, EDWARD), born Aug. 1894 Oregon, married Clifford Earl Allison, and died 19 May 1940 in Portland, Clackamas, Oregon, USA.
Source Citation: Year: 1920;Census Place: Portland, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T625_1499; Page: 9A; Enumeration District: 41; Image: 902., taken 9 January 1920 Clifford E Allison...29...Oregon, England, England...salesman, retail arts Edna R Allison...25...Oregon, Missouri, Oregon...can read/write Virginia E Allison....4 2/12... Oregon, Oregon, Oregon Source Citation: Year: 1940; Census Place: Portland, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T627_3392; Page: 3A; Enumeration District: 37-423. 2525 N. E. Mason Street.
Clifford E. Allison...49...OR...8th grade education...manufacturer of office door signals...rents home for $30/month
Enna K. Allison...45...OR...8th grade education
Virginia E. Allison...24..OR...4th year high school....file clerk, mail order company...income: $1080
OREGON DEATH INDEX
11. Virginia Ellen Allison, born 20 Oct 1915 Oregon, died 10 Jun 1998 Oregon.7. GEORGE BERNARD GINTY (EDWARD, BERNARD, EDWARD) born 7 December 1896 in Oregon, married first Dorothy (born abt. 1896 Oregon); second Nina McPeld, third Ruth L. He died 6 Aug 1976 Multnomah County, Oregon, USA. Nina had five grandchildren and five great-grandchildren: Patricia, Edgar Richmond, Donald Raymond, and George. It doesn't appear that George had any children.
Original data: State of Oregon. Oregon Marriage Index, 1906-1920. Portland, OR, USA: Oregon Health Division, Center for Health Statistics.
WORLD WAR I DRAFT REGISTRATION CARD
George Bernard Ginty
Source Citation: Year: 1930; Census Place: Portland, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: 1953; Page: 1B; Enumeration District: 425; Image: 450.0; FHL microfilm: 2341687
Source Citation: Year: 1940; Census Place: Rose Park, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T627_3376; Page: 3B; Enumeration District: 26-9
8. MADELINE GINTY (EDWARD, BERNARD, EDWARD), called "Tiny," born July 1899, married Robert L. Fisher, born abt 1888 Nebraska.
12. Deloris Fisher9. GERALDINE GINTY (EDWARD, BERNARD, EDWARD) born 13 November 1902 Oregon, died 5 Aug 1974 Portland, Multnomah, Oregon; married L. H. Agan. They had Marhelen and Kathleen. Kathleen had a son, Patrick.
Source Citation: Year: 1940; Census Place: Portland, Multnomah, Oregon; Roll: T627_3388; Page: 9A; Enumeration District: 37-166
10. NELLIE DALY (MARGARET, BERNARD, EDWARD) was born about January 1888 Washington, USA.
11. HELEN GUINTY (GEORGE WASHINGTON, BERNARD, EDWARD), born 7 February 1902 Washington, USA, died September 1981 Multnomah County, Oregon.
description from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837
BALLINTOBBER, a parish, partly in the half- barony of BALLYMOE, but chiefly in the barony of BALLINTOBBER, county of Roscommon, and province of CONNAUGHT, 4 miles (S. E. by S.) from Castlerea; containing 2480 inhabitants.
This place is supposed to derive its name, signifying "the town of the wells;" from some fine springs near the village. It is uncertain at what period the castle, now in ruins, was built: tradition ascribes its erection to Cathol Creudfarag O'Conor, in the 18th century; but Ledwich attributes it to Sir John King, to whom the property was granted in 1605.
The same writer asserts that the place had its origin in an abbey founded in 1216 by O'Conor, King of Connaught. In 1590, Hugh O'Conor Don or Dun, having incurred the hatred of his sept by accepting an English knighthood and remaining in allegiance to Queen Elizabeth, was besieged in the ancient castle by Hugh Roe O'Donnell, and was taken prisoner and deprived of his chieftaincy. In the war of 1641, Lord Ranelagh, Lord-President of Connaught, led a force of 900 foot and two or three troops of horse against the castle, then the principal strong hold of the O'Conor Don, near which were assembled 3000 horse and foot of the Mayo forces under Butler, and the insurgents of this county under O'Conor himself. The lord-president, to draw them into the plain ground, feigned a retreat for about three miles, and was pursued by the enemy; but turning round, he charged and routed them.
The parish is situated on the river Suck, and on the road from Roscommon to Castlerea; and comprises 4274 statute acres, as applotted under the tithe act. Considerable tracts of bog are spread over its surface; and there is a quarry of excellent limestone. The village contains about twenty-six dwellings, all cabins except three ; and behind it to the west, at the extremity of a limestone ridge, are the grand and picturesque ruins of the castle.
The principal seats are Willsgrove, the property of W. R. Wills, Esq. ; Enfield, the seat of P, O'Connor, Esq,; French-dawn, of Mrs.French; Fortwilliam, the residence of P. Teighe, Esq. ; Willsbrook, of ?? O'Connor, Esq. ; and Tenny Park, the seat of T. T. Byrne, Esq.
A large fair for horses, formerly much resorted to for the sale of yarn, is held on Aug. 25th. Petty sessions are also held here, generally monthly.
The living is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Elphin, forming the corps of the prebend of Ballintobber in the cathedral church of Elphin, and united by act of parliament of the 9th of Queen Anne to the vicarages of Baslick and Kilkeevan, which three parishes constitute the union of Ballintobber or Kilkeevan, in the patronage of the Bishop: the tithes amount to £200 ; and the gross tithes of the benefice to £625. The church of the union is in Kilkeevan : it is a neat edifice of ancient English architecture, built in 1818 by a loan of £2500 from the late Board of First Fruits. The glebe-house, also situated in that parish, was built by aid of a gift of £100 and a loan of £825 from the same Board: the glebe comprises 14 acres 8 roods 80 perches.
The Roman Catholic parish is co-extensive with that of the Established Church: the chapel is situated in the village.
There is a school at Willsgrove under the patronage of W. R. Wills, Esq., by whom the school-house was built, in which about 80 boys and 40 girls are taught; and there are two hedge schools, in which are about 180 boys and 40 girls.
The remains of the castle consist of a quadrangular enclosure, 270 feet in length and 237 in breadth, defended by strong polygonal towers at each angle, and by two others, one on each side of the principal gateway, facing an esplanade at the end of the limestone ridge on which they are situated; they are surrounded by a deep fosse, over which was a draw-bridge from a postern. The towers much resemble those of Caernarvon castle, and that on the south-west is very imposing and picturesque.
>Meet more Irish ancestors of Rita Louise Ward.
Copyright © 1999 - 2015, Jane A. Leavell. All rights reserved.